Reactions to Grief

  • Denial, numbness, and shock: This stage serves to protect the individual from experiencing the intensity of the loss. It may be useful when the grieving person must take action (for example, making funeral arrangements). Numbness is a normal reaction to an immediate loss and should not be confused with "lack of caring." As the individual slowly acknowledges the impact of the loss, denial and disbelief will diminish.

  • Bargaining: This stage may involve persistent thoughts about what could have been done to prevent the loss. People can become preoccupied about ways that things could have been better. If this stage is not properly resolved, intense feelings of remorse or guilt may interfere with the healing process.

  • Depression: This stage of grief occurs in some people after they realize the true extent of the loss.

  • Anger: This reaction usually occurs when an individual feels helpless and powerless. Anger can stem from a feeling of abandonment through a loved one's death. An individual may be angry at a higher power or toward life in general.

  • Acceptance: In time, an individual may be able to come to terms with various feelings and accept the fact that the loss has occurred. Healing can begin once the loss becomes integrated into the individual's set of life experiences.

                Love Is The Guide To Healing From Tragedy



  • Seek Opportunities to offer hope.
  • Uplift Spirits.
  • Spread the message of love.
  • Must be between the ages of 15 to 21.
  • Must have experienced a tragedy.
  • Have gone through proper training to be credited a volunteer.

           L.I.G.H.T. Volunteers